Further to the Taoiseach’s announcement of Friday 27th March all OPW Heritage sites including Parks, with the exception of the Phoenix Park will be closed, effective immediately. For a full list of properties see www.heritageireland.ie
Emo Court and Parklands
Emo Court – where heritage, art and nature meet
Just an hour from Dublin in the shadow of the Slieve Blooms, Emo Court is a stunning estate rich in history and natural beauty.
With parklands open 365 days a year, this festive season is the perfect time to take a winter walk at Emo. Enjoy the mile-long Wellingtonia Avenue, flanked by giant Sequoia trees planted in 1853, wander among the elegant yews and statuary of the formal lawns, or take in the Lakeside Loop. Keep an eye out for Irish red squirrels, which are native to the estate, and rare birds including buzzards and egrets.
The Emo Court tearoom in the historic Dower House is open 364 days a year, serving warming drinks and treats perfect for rounding off a winter stroll.
Once the largest country estate in Ireland, Emo Court was commissioned and built by the earls of Portarlington and designed by the eminent architect James Gandon. Emo has been the home of distinguished Jesuit photographer Fr. Frank Browne, and of author Benedict Kiely. The most recent resident of the house was Major Cholmeley Dering Cholmeley-Harrison, who fell in love with Emo Court on a visit to Ireland and dedicated his life to restoring the estate to its former glory. In 1994, President Mary Robinson officially received Emo Court & Parklands from Major Cholmeley-Harrison on behalf of the nation. The estate has been in the care of the OPW for a quarter of a century, and we look forward to welcoming you to the unique surroundings at Emo.